More than 2,000 shipwrecks sunk off the Coast of North Carolina in what’s called the Graveyard of the Atlantic. With all that history floating around, it was only natural to build a museum to honor and preserve the maritime culture of the Outer Banks. A state-of-the-art structure, the year round museum houses and displays artifacts, and presents a variety of exhibits and interprets the rich maritime culture that includes war, piracy, ghost ships and more. Artifacts include thoseex from the USS Monitor, which sank 16 miles off the Hatteras coast. The lobby features the stunning and original, 1854, First Order Lens from the Cape Hatteras Lighthouse. Current hibits include those on piracy and the Civil War on Hatteras Island.
Operated by The Outer Banks Visitors Bureau, the US Weather Bureau Station/ Hatteras Welcome Center provides year round directions and information on attractions and events. The welcome center was built in 1901 and housed the first U.S. Weather Bureau Station, which played a key role in developing the nation's meteorological network. Over the years it has endured some of Mother Nature’s most challenging storms. It was decommissioned in 1946.
Five years ago it opened as the Hatteras Island Welcome Center operated by the Outer Banks Visitors Bureau.
Stop by to obtain valuable literature including brochures and pamphlets about the Outer Banks' attractions and accommodations and. While browsing for things to do, savor the history of the old structure, a unique part of American history where the federal government began monitoring the weather in 1874. An observer recorded data hourly about barometric pressure, humidity, rainfall, temperature and wind speed.
The building has been completely renovated featuring fabulous polished pine walls!